Alameda County Schools need Joaquin's leadership and vision.
Join us in supporting him!


Berkeley Democratic Club
East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club
East Bay Young Democrats
John George Democratic Club
MGO Democratic Club
OakPAC- Oakland Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce
Green Party of Alameda County
Gay and Lesbian Victory Fund
East Bay Small Business Council PAC


The Oakland Tribune (
read the full endorsement)
The Bay Area Reporter

Elected Officials

Assemblywoman Mary Hayashi
Former Senate President Don Perata
Former Assemblywoman Wilma Chan
Former State Senator and Assemblywoman
Liz Figueroa

Alameda County Superintendent of Schools Sheila Jordan

Alameda County School Board Members:
Jacki Fox Ruby
Ken Berrick
Felix Elizalde
Eileen McDonald
Fred Sims
Enrique Palacios (former)

School Board Members:

Dick Allen (Mount Diablo)
Gwen Estes (New Haven)
Janice Friesen (Castro Valley)
Teresa Gerringer (Lafayette)
Cy Gulassa (Peralta CC)
Patricia Low (Albany)
Shirley Issel (Berkeley)
Dave Mandelkern (San Mateo CC)
Kathi McLaughlin (Martinez)
Charles Ramsey (West Contra Costa)
Nancy Riddle (Berkeley)
John Selawsky (Berkeley)
Joshua Simon (Emery)
Sheila Sims (Hayward)
Alice Spearman (Oakland)
Nancy Thomas (Newark)
Tony Thurmond (West Contra Costa)
Miriam Walden (Albany)
Jill Wynns (San Francisco)
Lara York (Fremont)

Former School Board Members:
Elizabeth Shaughnessy, Irene Hegarty, Miriam Rokeach (Topel), Pamela Doolan and Ted Schultz (Berkeley); Sarah Gonzalez and Grant Petersen (Hayward)

Albany Mayor Joanne Wile
Emeryville Mayor Ruth Atkin

City Council Members:

Max Anderson (Berkeley)
Marge Atkinson (Albany)

Jane Brunner (Oakland)
Laurie Capitelli (Berkeley)
Robert Lieber (Albany)
Linda Maio (Berkeley)

Darryl Moore (Berkeley)
Jean Quan (Oakland)
Susan Wengraf (Berkeley)
Kriss Worthington (Berkeley)
Gordon Wozniak (Berkeley)
Shirley Dean, former Berkeley Mayor
Betty Olds, Fred Collignon and Mim Hawley, Former Berkeley City Council Members
Joel Young, A.C. Transit Director
Andy Katz, EBMUD Board Director

Pam Webster, Berkeley Rent Board Commissioner
Jesse Townley, Berkeley Rent Board Commissioner

Pat Danielson, Board Member, Washington Hospital District

Community Leaders and Individuals

Bill Huyett, Superintendent, Berkeley Unified School District*
Mark Friedman, Chief Executive Officer, First 5, Alameda County*

Neil Smith, Associate Superintendent for Instruction, Berkeley Unified School District*
Lisa van  Thillo, Associate Superintendent for Human Resources, Berkeley Unified School District*
Laura Rico, Vice President, American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO*
Doug Abadie, Former Vice-President, Berkeley Federation of Teachers*
Mary Friedman, Founding Director, Berkeley Public Education Foundation*

Richard Holober, Executive Director, Consumer Federation of California*
Sylvia McLaughlin, Co-Founder, Save the Bay*; founding member, Citizens for East Shore Parks*

Joel Cohen, President, California School Health Centers Association*
Michele Lawrence and Jack McLaughlin, former Superintendents, Berkeley Unified School District*
Frank Brunetti, former Superintendent, Orinda School District*

Julie Holcomb, Former Chair, Berkeley Schools Excellence Project Planning and Oversight Committee*
Mark Coplan, Past President, PTA Council*
Mary Alice Rathbun, Past-President, Berkeley Rotary*
Maggie Gee, Carl Jaramillo and Linda Perry, Alameda County Democratic Party*
George Beier, President, Willard Neighborhood Association*
Fran Packard, Former President, League of Women Voters*
Judy Appel, Executive Director, Our Family Coalition*
Gary Cohen, President, Congregations of Shaare Shamayim*
Shireen Burns, Co-Chair, Berkeley Democratic Club
Cheryl Eccles, PTA President, Willard Middle School*
George Perezvelez, Chair, Berkeley Police Review Commission*
Mary Nicely, Berkeley Peace and Justice Commission*
Jesse Anthony
Regina Beatus
Linda Calvin
Cheryl Chinn
Serena Clayton
Nelly Coplan
Iris V. Contreras
Dan Dean
Gary Dougan
Jared Fine
Valerie Herr
Laila Ibrahim
Clinton Killian
Albert Magid
Francisco Martinez
Suzanne McCulloch
Marci Moriconi
Linda Olivenbaum
Felton Owens
Susan Owens
Dave Perry
Linda Perry
Tim Perry
Jose J. Rivera Lopez
Susie Schevill
Rhoda Shaponik
Ariane Terlet
Nancy Turak
Karen Ward
Becky Wheat
Liz Zapalac
(partial list)

* Organization for identification purposes only